Life with Chronic Illness

Does the internet really need another blog? I don’t know if the internet needs this blog, but I sure do. I have a voice and it needs to be heard. I am the wife of someone living with a chronic illness. I am the daughter of someone living with a chronic illness. We all have voices and they need to be heard. They deserve to be heard.

If you’re looking for a mushy-gushy sunshine and rainbows inspirational blog, this is not the place for you. This is my personal dumping grounds where I intend to dump all of my unfiltered thoughts, feelings, and ideas about life with a chronic illness.

When I say unfiltered I mean that I’m going to tell it like it is. No sugar coating the details of events for the sake of worried relatives. No plastering a smile on my weary face for friends, and saying everything is fine when things are far from it.

The truth of the matter is, if you’re living with a chronic illness, things are rarely fine. There are good days. There are bad days. But the illness is always there. It is always on your mind – whether it is screaming in your ear, or hovering somewhere just beneath the surface – it is always there.

Is this blog going to be full of doom and despair? Absolutely not. It’s just time to be real about this difficult life we live. A life lived so much in private that “outsiders” don’t really have a clue as to what it’s all about.

Life with a chronic illness is a lot like the picture I chose for this post. The road is long and dirty. There are a lot of bumps along the way, but if you look up it’s still full of beauty and wonder.

Leave a Reply

